Geoffroy Hall Namesake: Dr. Gregory L. Geoffroy

Geoffroy Hall

Dr. Geoffroy (pronounced 'joh free') resigned as president of the University in 2012 but retained the role of Emeritus Professor in the Department of Chemistry until he retired in 2013. During his tenure as President, he provided leadership in implementing the goals of the Board of Regents, State of Iowa and advancing higher education in Iowa. During his tenure, the University set new enrollment records, sponsored funding, and fundraising. He successfully completed the University’s largest capital campaign up to that point, “Campaign Iowa State: With Pride and Purpose,” which raised over $800 million and doubled the number of endowed faculty positions to 150.

A number of major building projects were completed under Geoffroy's leadership, including the Bergstrom Indoor Training Facility, Biorenewables Research Laboratory, Gerdin Business Building, Hach Hall, Hixson-Lied Student Success Center, Hoover Hall, Lloyd Veterinary Medical Center, Roy J. Carver Co-Lab, and Union Drive Community Center.

Dr. Geoffroy is credited with saving Morrill Hall, a symbol of Iowa State University’s land grant heritage, from demolition. He launched one of the largest grassroots fundraising efforts in University history to support major renovations totaling $10.3 million. In 2007, Morrill Hall was officially rededicated during Iowa State University’s Sesquicentennial kickoff celebration.

Dr. Geoffroy received a B.S. (1968) in Chemistry from the University of Louisville, Kentucky; and a Ph.D. (1974) in Chemistry from the California Institute of Technology, Pasadena, California. He is an established scholar and scientist in organometallic chemistry, homogeneous and heterogeneous catalysis, and organometallic photochemistry. Dr. Geoffroy has an extensive publication record in chemistry journals and was a member of the Board of Directors of the Association of Universities for Research in Astronomy. He was named a Fellow, American Association for the Advancement of Science in 1991.